SPHC steel: properties, composition, equivalents
SPHC is the commercial grade of JIS G3131 hot-rolled mild steel sheet: no guaranteed yield, tensile ≥ 270 MPa, elongation 27–31 %. Full G3131 family, EN 10111 (DD11–DD13) and ASTM A1011 equivalents, and how to read the P/H/C letters.
What is SPHC?
SPHC is the workhorse hot-rolled sheet of Japanese and wider East Asian practice, and the grade most often written on an enquiry that simply means *ordinary hot-rolled coil*. The letters decode as Steel Plate Hot Commercial: JIS G3131 covers three grades in one family — SPHC for commercial use, SPHD for drawing and SPHE for deep drawing — separated by how clean the steel is and how far it will stretch before it tears.
What matters when reading a G3131 certificate is what is *not* there. No yield strength is guaranteed, no impact energy, no carbon equivalent. The standard fixes a minimum tensile strength of 270 MPa, an elongation band and four chemical limits, and nothing else. That is entirely adequate for a bracket, a duct or a pressed panel, and entirely inadequate for a structural member — which is why substituting SPHC for SS400 or S235JR is a specification error, even though the plates look identical.
The practical range is 1.2 to 14 mm; below that the product becomes cold-rolled SPCC and above it hot-rolled plate. Pickled and oiled material carries the suffix P and is what a press shop or a laser cutter should be ordering, because mill scale interferes with both.
SPHC chemical composition
| Element | Mass % | Note |
|---|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 | |
| Mn | ≤ 0.6 | |
| P | ≤ 0.05 | |
| S | ≤ 0.05 |
SPHC, SPHD and SPHE share one chemistry table in G3131 with the limits tightening down the list: SPHD is C ≤ 0.10, Mn ≤ 0.50, and SPHE is C ≤ 0.10, Mn ≤ 0.50 with P ≤ 0.030 and S ≤ 0.035. Nothing else is specified — this is a plain low-carbon steel.
SPHC mechanical properties
| Thickness / condition | Yield strength ReH / Rp0.2 MPa (ksi) | Tensile strength Rm MPa (ksi) | Elongation A % | Hardness |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPHC, ≥ 1.2 mm | not specified (not specified) | ≥ 270 (≥ 39.2) | 27–31 | ≈ 100–120 HB (typ.) |
| SPHD, ≥ 1.2 mm | not specified (not specified) | ≥ 270 (≥ 39.2) | 30–36 | |
| SPHE, ≥ 1.2 mm | not specified (not specified) | ≥ 270 (≥ 39.2) | 31–39 |
Elongation depends on thickness: the lower figure applies at 1.2–1.6 mm, the higher above 3.2 mm. No yield strength is guaranteed in any of the three grades — typical values run 210–280 MPa.
Impact toughness
SPHC requires a minimum Charpy V-notch energy of 0 J at °C. No impact requirement. G3131 is a forming standard, not a structural one; if a project needs notch toughness, the structural grades of JIS G3106 (SM400, SM490) or EN 10025-2 apply.
SPHC equivalent grades
| Grade | System | Match | Why / differences |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1011 CS Type B | ASTM / ASME | Near | ASTM A1011 Commercial Steel Type B: hot-rolled sheet with C ≤ 0.10–0.20 and no guaranteed yield. The US equivalent by role; the grade families are organised differently (CS, DS, SS, HSLAS). |
| St 22 | DIN (superseded German) | Near | JIS G3131 SPHC is the Japanese commercial hot-rolled forming grade at the same level: C ≤ 0.15, tensile ≥ 270 MPa, no guaranteed yield. |
| DD11 | EN (European) | Near | EN 10111 DD11: hot-rolled mild steel for cold forming, Rm ≤ 440 MPa, A80 ≥ 24 %, C ≤ 0.12. The direct European counterpart of SPHC; the EN grade caps tensile strength where JIS sets a minimum, so a certificate should be read in both directions. |
| DD12 | EN (European) | Near | EN 10111 DD12 corresponds to SPHD: cleaner chemistry, higher elongation, for drawn parts. |
| DD13 | EN (European) | Near | EN 10111 DD13 corresponds to SPHE: the deep-drawing member of the family. |
| Q195 / Q235 | GB/T (China) | Functional | GB/T 700 carbon structural steels often supplied against SPHC enquiries in East Asian trade. Q195 is close in chemistry but is a structural grade with a declared yield. |
Identical = same composition and mechanical limits within rounding. Near = one limit differs (e.g. carbon max or impact temperature). Functional = interchangeable for most uses after an engineering check. Full cross-reference for SPHC →
Old and superseded designations
| Old name | Standard | Note |
|---|---|---|
| SPHC | JIS G3131:1996 | the designation is unchanged in the 2018 edition |
| SS400 (confused with) | JIS G3101 | a structural grade with 245 MPa guaranteed yield — not a substitute for a forming grade |
Product forms and tolerance standards
Product forms: hot-rolled coil (1.2–14 mm, dominant), cut sheet, slit strip, pickled and oiled (SPHC-P).
Dimensional tolerances: Thickness and width to JIS G3193; the pickled variant carries the suffix P (SPHC-P). Ordinary, cut-edge and mill-edge widths are all covered..
Key property values
SPHC tensile strength
≥ 270 MPa minimum, typically 300–380 MPa in practice. No maximum is specified, which is the main difference from EN 10111, where DD11 is capped at 440 MPa.
Yield strength
Not specified. Typical values are 210–280 MPa. If a design needs a guaranteed yield, the grade is wrong: use SS400 (245 MPa) from JIS G3101 or S235JR from EN 10025-2.
Elongation
SPHC 27 % at 1.2–1.6 mm rising to 31 % above 3.2 mm; SPHD 30–36 %; SPHE 31–39 %. The elongation band is the real difference between the three grades.
Thickness range
1.2 to 14 mm as coil, sheet and strip. The pickled variant SPHC-P is normal above 2 mm for parts that will be welded, painted or laser cut.
Surface
As-rolled with mill scale, or pickled and oiled (P). There is no surface class system comparable to the A/B classes of EN 10130 — surface expectations are agreed between buyer and mill.
Weldability
Welds without difficulty by every common process. Carbon is capped at 0.15 % and manganese at 0.60 %, so the carbon equivalent sits around 0.25 and neither preheat nor post-weld heat treatment is needed at any thickness in the range. Mill scale should be removed from the weld zone on as-rolled material; on pickled sheet the surface is ready. Spot, MAG and laser welding are all routine, and the grade is used in exhaust, chassis and enclosure fabrication precisely because it is so tolerant.
Machining, forming and heat treatment
Soft and gummy rather than hard: 100–120 HB, prone to built-up edge at low speeds. Use positive-rake tooling and higher cutting speeds than the hardness suggests. Punching, shearing and roll forming are all straightforward; the low carbon means cut edges stay ductile and can be bent without cracking.
Typical applications
- Pressed and formed parts: brackets, housings, covers
- Automotive chassis components, wheel rims and exhaust parts
- Welded tube and pipe as feedstock
- Ducting, enclosures and general fabrication
- Drums, containers and light tanks
- Substrate for pickling, galvanizing and further processing
Frequently asked questions
What is JIS G3131 SPHC?
The commercial grade of the Japanese hot-rolled mild steel sheet standard: tensile ≥ 270 MPa, elongation 27–31 %, C ≤ 0.15 %, with no guaranteed yield strength. SPHD and SPHE in the same standard are the drawing and deep-drawing grades.
What is the equivalent of JIS G3131 in EN?
EN 10111: SPHC ≈ DD11, SPHD ≈ DD12, SPHE ≈ DD13. The correspondence is by role and chemistry; note that EN caps tensile strength while JIS sets a minimum.
What is the ASTM equivalent of SPHC?
ASTM A1011 CS Type B (Commercial Steel) is the closest hot-rolled sheet grade. For drawing quality, A1011 DS Type B corresponds to SPHD.
Is SPHC the same as SS400?
No. SPHC is a forming grade with no guaranteed yield; SS400 (JIS G3101) is a structural grade with 245 MPa minimum yield. They are not interchangeable on a structural drawing even when the chemistry looks similar.
What does SPHC stand for?
Steel Plate Hot Commercial. SPHD is Hot Drawing and SPHE is Hot deep-drawing (Extra). The cold-rolled family in JIS G3141 uses SPCC, SPCD and SPCE in the same pattern.
What thickness does SPHC come in?
1.2 to 14 mm as hot-rolled coil, sheet and strip. Thinner material is cold-rolled SPCC; thicker is hot-rolled plate to another standard.
Related grades
Verified against JIS G3131:2018; JIS G3131:2018 Tables 2 and 3; EN 10111:2008 (for the equivalence); ASTM A1011/A1011M. Last checked: September 2026.